Ideology

So I am never fond of the idea of beginnings.
But because of this, I always find myself attached to beliefs in a sometimes uncompromising way.

I spent the last year in International Project Management at Humber College in Toronto. I was taught to enjoy a certain viewpoint of development: how it should run, who should be involved, how it should look and feel. Being now at the Coady International Institute, a grassroots development institution, has challenged continually the ideology I adopted at Humber.

But I’m protective of the stuff I learned at Humber, in a way that may be hindering my full appreciation of the Coady ideology. I am defensive: how can the people here not appreciate what Humber is?

In any case, I am coming to the realization that as soon as an instutition enters my life, so does another ideology, which will forever taint the way I am viewed in the world of development. It will also forever influence the way I view my development endeavours.

~ by kcanderson on August 1, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
