Language Barrier

I have been meaning to elaborate on this topic for some time.

I function in an entirely French environment at work. This is a perpetual barrier in terms of my professionalism, considering I talk in French like a mature grade 3 student. The progress is slow, but seems to be accompanied by a wealth of advice on language learning from friends and colleagues.

Not a day goes by where I am not told that the best way to learn a language is to function in it 100% of the time, immersion and no slips into English. That I must also read, write, listen to the radio and watch TV (if I had it) in French. Difficult when I live with another anglophone and we are brutally exhausted by French come days end. We speak in English all night, then I am confronted with French again all day.

I have days where the French words just fall eloquently from my mouth, awing my brain that had no knowledge of those words before I said them. I have other days where you would ask me if I really had any clue about the French language at all.

As for Kinyarwanda, it is so massively difficult to learn, that I tend to just block it out when people are speaking. I am lost. My mouth can’t make the noises.

it is Saturday and I am working. here goes.

~ by kcanderson on October 15, 2005.

3 Responses to “Language Barrier”

  1. Apple iPod set to join yo-yo and hula hoop
    APPLE’S reassuringly expensive and jolly nice looking iPod is doomed to join the Hula Hoop, the tie dyed tee-shirt and string art as fads that didn’t catch on.
    Find out how you can buy and sell anything, like things related to private road construction on interest free credit and pay back whenever you want! Exchange FREE ads on any topic, like private road construction!

  2. Learning a language is an incredibly difficult thing especially in Africa especially at work.
    It is amazing that you are tackling this and succeeding.
    I absolutely respect and admire the effort you make to overcome challenges and more every single day.

  3. Learning is the most special gift given to us on this earth. Learning a language like Matt says especially French (which by the way will come in handy when you come back home)is a great challenge in itself so good luck to you .I am though without doubt sure of your success in accomplishing this task.
    Suzanne ( The new Bride)

Leave a Reply

 
