One Voice.

This blog will likely only be enjoyed by my yogic-loving friends and family…

This morning as I was sitting in the Patisserie, drinking my tea, I listened to a song that I always play at the very end of my yoga classes. It’s called “One Voice” by the Wailin Jennys. This song, since I heard it for the first time at Kripalu (www.kripalu.org), gave me a way to bring any moment of challenge or emotion into crystal clear perspective. The underlying and undenyable principle of connectedness. Listening to the song inevitably connects me to all the teachers, students, family, friends and strangers that enrich my life so deeply everyday.

My reason for being draw to this ‘development’ work again and again is connectedness. Feeling like there shouldn’t be so much disparity between humans. Feeling like if we, as a species, could put aside hate, greed, selfishness… perhaps we could find some sense of oneness. I’m not naive, and I’m not being immature. I see oneness in the smallest interactions. At home and here. I imagine that’s what I am continually searching for… more moments of connectedness.

Maybe suspend some judgement or disbelief reading the words of this incredible message.

“This is the sound of one voice
One spirit, one voice
The sound of one who makes a choice
This is the sound of one voice.

This is the sound of voices two
The sound of me, singing with you
Helping each other to make it through
This is the sound of voices two.

This is the sound of voices three
Singing together in harmony
Surrendering to the mystery,
This is the sound of voices three.

This is the sound of all of us,
Singing with love and the will to trust
Leave the rest behind, it’ll turn to dust
This is the sound of all of us.

This is the sound of one voice
One people, one voice
A song for every one of us
This is the sound of one voice.”


“It is not for him to pride himself who loves his own country, but rather for him who loves the whole world. The earth is but one country and mankind its citizens”

~ by kcanderson on July 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
