Friends.

I got to spend some time today with my wonderful friend Jia in Toronto. We spent the last few hours talking over green tea (fresh from her recent trip to China) and then a philosophical brunch at a tiny restaurant on College St. Seeing Jia always reawakens my universal appreciation and also reminds me to take better care of myself. Jia just radiates a mellowness that reminds me to slow down and enjoy the little things.

I promised to share a quote with Jia so here it is. It is from Thorton’s Wilder’s “Our Town”, when a recently deceased character gets to re-live a day in her childhood. The quote was presented in a recent Globe and Mail article:

“It goes so fast. We don’t have time to look at one another… I didn’t realize, so all that was going on and we never noticed. One more look… goodbye. Goodbye Grover’s Corners, clocks ticking, flowers, and food and coffee and new ironed dresses and hot baths and sleeping and waking up. Oh Earth, you are too wonderful for anybody to realize you. Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it?”

Sitting in Jia’s cozy kitchen catching up on our lives was certainly a way to bring my attention back to the beautiful moments.

~ by kcanderson on November 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
