Now.

Now is the time of med school exams. The time of waking up early and dragging myself around the corner to a coffee shop that sells refills on coffee for 50 cents. Now is the time that I can’t fathom I have forgotten the facts I so vigorously memorized two months ago. It is the time of words blurring together on the page. The time of questioning and wondering so easily, frequently, emotionally and intensely.

Now is the time of wearing my touque as much as possible because I love how it feels. It is the time of thick falling snow and walks at night when the sky is lit up by reflection. Now is the time of the evening run to the corner store for butter while I bake cookies. Now is the time that my best friend sends me a surprise book and a beautiful card in the mail; that I write christmas cards to the people I love; that I catch up on the stories of old friends and new acquaintances. Now is the time, just like every other time, that we must all understand, even for fleeting second, just how fortunate we are for every wonderful and fascinating and challenging and difficult thing that comes to pass.

~ by kcanderson on December 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
