Global Effects

Excuse my winter hiatus from blogging. I’m back to writing and will soon publish an article I was working on during the holidays for your reading enjoyment. This quote (below) reminds me of the thought process I’ve been entertaining for awhile now. How can we describe, to non-believers, that this quote is true? Is this quote true? I have thought much about how to make the plight of AIDS real to those who have not seen, heard or been touched by it directly. Why does AIDS in resource-poor places affect us in our rich world? I have my theories but have yet to formulate a crystal clear argument. Your thoughts are welcome.

Martin Luther King, Jr.: “Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.”

~ by kcanderson on January 7, 2008.

3 Responses to “Global Effects”

  1. You know far more about the subject than I do. That said, the question which has been on my mind for the last few weeks is not “How does it affect us?” but “Why should it matter that it affects us?”

    Looking forward to the article.

  2. Yes… that’s a great question, too. Unfortunately this article in particular won’t answer it, but it makes great fodder for the next one. Except I have no idea how to answer the question. Do you?

  3. Well, I have some ideas, but I’m still working on them. My answer relates to another comment you made on my blog. I am trying to find if human beings are capable of describing a system of morality that does not lean on selfishness.

    I think it is possible, but it is difficult to articulate.

    Anyways, I’d still like to find out how HIV in Africa affects me.

Leave a Reply

 
