Meeting a fear.

A lot of things have been on my mind since Monday. I’ve been in touch with some of my friends who are going through this start-of-clerkship experience, but I have no idea if they feel the same. I’m getting a lot of “great!” in response to “how is it so far?”.

There are definitely good parts but I can’t believe the number of fears I have that I’ve never felt before. I’ve never worried about whether or not I’m going to be taught enough medicine, or capable at the end of my formal education. This has been a first-time worry for me this week. I feel like there are so many things to know, and that to fill out my education I might be forced to supplement what I’d get if I just went day-to-day through clerkship. Is this irrational? Will I be taught enough to be a good doctor? Can I absorb enough of what’s being taught to me?

~ by kcanderson on September 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
