Learning at Bellagio

The personal growth is truly astounding. Putting yourself out there in front of twenty-one experts in your chosen field is an experience, especially when you are a critic like I can be. My goal is to be insightful and to think deeply about the proceedings here. I can’t engage in deep thought and not unleash the occasional diplomatically-formed comment. There is resistance to these difficult questions (mixed with occasional experts who warmly embrace it – my personal heroes). I almost feel as though, because I’m a “student”, the questions can be disregarded as if I just don’t have enough experience to know what I’m talking about.

But students must push the envelope – we are the ones with the energy and stamina (and often clarity) to do it. It is important to explore edges and stuck ideas, especially in the rapidly evolving ‘global health’ sector.

I hope to look back on these times when I have grey hair, wrinkles and a lot more wisdom. I only hope that I continue to take my own eager advice.

~ by kcanderson on September 24, 2008.

One Response to “Learning at Bellagio”

  1. If you have to write it down as a reminder each morning when you wake up you should. Your advice is perfect.

    Leaving the bar low, relative to your potential and ambitions, will always render you a disservice.

    I’m proud of you and your accomplishments.

Leave a Reply

 
