Winter, Studying, Decision-Making

It snows outside, and I’m inside studying for my obs/gyn exam tomorrow. It is picturesque winter and I kind of want to be outside in it. Instead I’m self-reprimanding and stuffing more knowledge into my crammed brain. On the sidelines, unsurprisingly, my mind wanders about my future in medicine and all the things I love to do. I caught up with two good friends this week, who both inspired me to think more carefully about my day-to-day experiences. To not judge it so critically or expect that my experiences do not mimic those of other medical students. We are all learning and we are all often unsure of where we should be, what we should feel or expect. We should all be kinder to ourselves and not expect our lives to now be crammed only into the little box of medicine. We should think big, even now when we are tired and uncertain. We should live our lives and not let them be ‘stopped’ by the internal and external expectations that they could or should.

~ by kcanderson on November 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
