The BC Quality?

There is a quality about being here.  Not to romanticize it, but to capture it. I woke up this morning and smiled, hearing rain pattering on the window outside. I love BC rain.  A light rain sailing through a misty morning.  I sit inside, but the sliding doors are open to the backyard.  I hear the birds out there.  I see the evergreen trees, growing so tall into the sky.  There is a gentleness to the air, too.  A humidity, maybe, a heaviness that doesn’t feel like a burden but instead like a stabilizing force anchoring you to the ground.   There is a calmness.  I don’t know how to explain this sensation – but it’s like all the muscles in my body relax and I’m just here.

~ by kcanderson on March 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
